Our Mission

Our mission

French-Language Education in Ontario pursues an important social mission based on the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. In addition to ensuring the academic, personal and professional success of its students, FLE is dedicated to conveying and promoting the French language and the culture of the francophone community in Ontario. FLE is the social instrument that guarantees the prosperity of the francophone community in Ontario, as in Canada’s other provinces.

Growth is essential to the vitality of any organization. School boards therefore work tirelessly to make their establishments more accessible to the communities they serve. This allows them to fully carry out their mission and to provide their clientele with French schools in their area.

“(…) a minority community cannot develop itself without its school. The physical presence of a school is at the heart of a community’s vitality. It serves as a tool against assimilation, supports the social and cultural growth of individuals, and symbolizes the vitality of a community. Schools also have an important social mandate: in addition to bringing children and parents together, they allow them to develop a sense of belonging within their community.”

Supreme Court of Canada, Arsenault Cameron v. Prince-Edward Island, [2000] 1 S.C.R. 3

French-language education in Ontario offers a unique experience. Those who benefit from a French-language education develop true and sustainable bilingualism and an openness to the world. FLE also fosters each student’s identity-building and provides him or her with a sense of cultural belonging to the francophone community within Ontario, Canada and the world.

Students and pupils at FLE live and learn in French, while evolving in a predominantly English-speaking environment. In addition, English is taught starting in elementary school, with the same rigour as in English-speaking schools.

Students who receive a high-school diploma from a French-language school are likely to be proficient in both Canada’s official languages. This increases their chances of being admitted to the post-secondary education or training program of their choice, as they can apply to French-language, English-language or bilingual institutions.

All of our graduates develop high-level, sustainable bilingualism, as well as a sense of belonging to the francophone community, while remaining active and involved in the greater community. This provides them with highly promising career opportunities in either official language, within the province or abroad. FLE trains its students to evolve and succeed on the world stage.

Education: More than just schooling

We are committed to the development of each student pursuing education in Ontario’s French-language schools. In order to optimize the success and the cultural, intellectual, social, physical and psychological development of each student under its care, the staff of FLE’s schools:

  • Ensure a constant collaboration between several important players and the school;
  • Participate in creating relationships between families and communities to better meet the needs and expectations of each pupil and student;
  • Offer support to all parents, including those whose main language is not French.

A proactive welcome

FLE is devoted to:

  • Offering all students a warm, inclusive and effective welcome, regardless of their mother tongue or how fluent they are in French;
  • Adopting practices that foster diversity and the cultural integration of newcomers into the community;
  • Offering students a francophone environment that fosters identity development and cultural affirmation;
  • Encouraging members of the community to participate in activities organized by the school community;
  • Providing access to activities organized by the community at large for educational purposes.

Options for everyone

FLE offers a range of programs and services intended for people of all age groups:

Support: The key to success

“Like the welcoming provided to students, student support is by no means one-sided. The process involves the participation of the school, family and student, who share responsibility for the student’s academic success.”

Ministry’s Policies (Programmes d’accueil et d’accompagnement)
Parent Partners in Education (PPE)

Commitment to the success and well-being of every student and child

Achieving Excellence – A Renewed Vision for Education in Ontario (French version): http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/document/policy/admissions.pdf
A document demonstrating the Ministry of Ontario's committed to the success and well-being of every student and child.

Notre mission

Le mandat de l'ELF

L'école de langue française a un mandat social des plus importants, qui découle de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. Outre qu'elle doive assurer la réussite scolaire, personnelle et professionnelle de ses élèves, elle est chargée de transmettre et de promouvoir la langue française ainsi que la culture qui caractérise la communauté francophone de l'Ontario. L'école de langue française est l'instrument social garant de l'essor de la communauté francophone en Ontario, comme dans les autres provinces du Canada.

Qui dit vitalité, dit croissance. Les conseils scolaires travaillent donc sans relâche pour faciliter l'accès à leurs écoles dans chacune des collectivités qu'ils desservent. Ils peuvent ainsi s'acquitter de tous les volets de leur mandat et permettre à leur clientèle de bénéficier pleinement de la présence d'une école de langue française à proximité.

« (…) une communauté minoritaire ne peut se développer sans son école. L'école est, par sa présence physique, au cœur de la vitalité d'une communauté. Elle représente un outil contre l'assimilation, favorise le développement social et culturel de l'individu et est un symbole de la vitalité de la communauté locale. Le rôle social de l'école est aussi non négligeable, puisque, en plus de donner un lieu de rassemblement pour les enfants et les parents, elle leur permet de développer un sentiment d'appartenance à la communauté. »

Cour suprême du Canada, Arsenault Cameron c. Île-du-Prince-Édouard, [2000] 1 R.C.S. 3

L'éducation en langue française en Ontario est une expérience unique, d'excellente qualité, qui forme des citoyens durablement et véritablement bilingues et ouverts sur le monde. Elle favorise également l'appartenance culturelle et l'engagement communautaire.

Les élèves et les étudiant(e)s de l'ELF apprennent et vivent en français, tout en évoluant dans un monde où l'anglais domine. De plus, l'anglais leur est enseigné dès l'école élémentaire, avec la même rigueur que dans les écoles de langue anglaise.

Les élèves qui obtiennent leur diplôme d'études secondaires d'une école de langue française sont assurés de maîtriser les deux langues officielles du Canada. Ils augmentent ainsi leurs chances d'accéder au programme d'études postsecondaires de leur choix. Ils sont donc en mesure de présenter une demande d'admission dans les établissements postsecondaires de langue française, de langue anglaise ou bilingues.

Leur bilinguisme de haut niveau, bien ancré, et leur appartenance à la communauté francophone, alliée à leurs nombreux contacts avec la communauté anglophone majoritaire de la province, leur garantissent un avenir professionnel des plus prometteurs et des débouchés de carrière dans l'une ou l'autre des deux langues officielles, dans la province aussi bien qu'à l'extérieur. L'ELF prépare sa clientèle à évoluer et à réussir sur la scène mondiale.

L'éducation, c'est bien plus qu'un apprentissage

Nous avons à cœur le développement et le bien-être de chaque élève qui poursuit son éducation au sein des écoles de langue française en Ontario. Aussi, pour optimiser la réussite et le développement culturel, intellectuel, social, physique et psychologique de chaque élève qui lui est confié, le personnel scolaire :

  • repose sur une collaboration constante entre plusieurs intervenants et l'école ;
  • prend part à l'établissement de liens avec les familles et les communautés pour mieux répondre aux attentes et aux besoins de chaque élève et étudiant(e) ;
  • dispose de mécanismes pour aider les parents, premiers responsables de l'éducation de leur enfant, y compris ceux dont le français n'est pas la langue première.

Un accueil proactif

L'ELF met tout en œuvre pour :

  • offrir à tous un premier contact chaleureux, inclusif et efficace, quel que soit leur niveau de connaissance du français ou leur langue maternelle ;
  • adopter des pratiques ouvertes à la diversité qui favorisent l'insertion culturelle des nouveaux arrivants dans le milieu scolaire ;
  • offrir un espace francophone au sein duquel pourront se développer la construction identitaire et l'affirmation culturelle de l'élève;
  • encourager la participation des membres de la communauté scolaire aux activités des organismes de la communauté scolaire ;
  • rendre accessibles les activités des organismes de la communauté dans leur ensemble à des fins éducatives¹.

Des options pour tous

L'ELF propose une gamme de programmes et de services à l'intention de tous les groupes d'âge :

L'accompagnement, une valeur sûre

« Tout comme l'accueil, l'accompagnement de l'élève, loin d'être à sens unique, est un processus où l'école, la famille et l'élève se partagent la responsabilité de la réussite scolaire de l'élève². »

Politiques du Ministère (Programmes d'accueil et d'accompagnement)
Parents partenaires en éducation (PPE)

L'importance de la réussite et du bien-être de l'enfant  et de l'élève

Atteindre l'excellence Une vision renouvelée de l'éducation en Ontario : http://www.edu.gov.on.ca/fre/about/renewedVisionFr.pdf
Un document qui démontre la volonté du ministère de l'Éducation de  l'Ontario à assurer la réussite et le bien-être de chaque élève et de chaque enfant

¹ L'admission, l'accueil et l'accompagnement des élèves dans les écoles de langue française de l'Ontario, Énoncé de politique et directives, 2009, p. 13-14.
² Ibid., p. 3.