A Unique Education

A unique experience

In a French-language school, students live and learn in French. Indeed, the experience offered by FLE is very different from the immersion programs at English-language schools.

Dedicated to passing on and promoting francophone culture, FLE offers a unique cultural experience to its students. An agent of change and important partner in our society, FLE actively contributes to the development and vitality of francophone communities, which in turn enhances the quality of life for all citizens in Ontario.

Early childhood programs and services

Convinced that learning begins with exploration and play, all French-language school boards in Ontario offer full-time junior and senior kindergarten programs for children starting at age 4. These programs favour each child’s personal, social and intellectual development, optimizing his or her long-term success.

In addition, some school boards offer or are preparing to offer programs destined for 3-year-old children.

A dynamic and diverse francophone community

The diversity of the francophone community in Ontario enhances the cultural environment of FLE’s French schools and colleges, as well as that of bilingual universities. In light of the ever-growing diversity of Ontario’s population, FLE provides programs and services to welcome and assist all parents who wish to enrol their children in a French school, as well as all students who sign up for post-secondary education programs offered in French.

A student-dedicated community

FLE works in collaboration with various organizations in the community in order to expand the range of services it offers. In some cases, services can even be offered to help parents support their child’s academic and personal success.

Mission

French-language schools

French-language schools nurture the cultural and linguistic vitality of the francophone community in Ontario.

Immersion programs (English-language schools)

Immersion programs play a complementary role, increasing the number of anglophones proficient in French as a second language.

Target groups

French-language schools

Francophones, newcomers and those who submit a request following the policies established by the chosen school board. View admission criteria.

Immersion programs

Anglophone students to whom French is taught as a second language within an English-language school.

Academic approach

French-language schools

French-language schools are educational establishments in their own right where students live and learn in French. They are managed by one of the 12 French-language school boards in Ontario (8 catholic school boards and 4 public school boards ). All subjects are taught in French except for English, which is taught following the same curriculum as in English-language schools.

Immersion programs

French immersion programs are offered by English-language school boards within English-language schools. Immersion programs teach French as a second language. In addition, at least two other subjects are taught in French.

To better understand the difference between French-language schools and French language immersion programs offered in the English language system, please read this information sheet.

Une éducation unique

Une expérience unique

Dans une école de langue française, l'élève apprend et vit en français. L'expérience offerte par l'ELF est effectivement très différente de celle qu'offrent les programmes d'immersion des écoles de langue anglaise.

Parce que l'ELF transmet et valorise la culture francophone, elle fait vivre une expérience unique à celles et à ceux qui fréquentent ses établissements. Agent de changement et force vive dans notre société, l'ELF contribue activement à l'épanouissement et à la vitalité de la francophonie, ainsi qu'au développement de l'ensemble des communautés qu'elle sert.

Des programmes et des services destinés aux tout-petits

Convaincus que l'éveil à l'apprentissage commence par l'exploration et le jeu, tous les conseils scolaires de langue française de l'Ontario offrent aux enfants – à temps pleinles programmes de la maternelle et du jardin dès l'âge de 4 ans. Ces programmes favorisent le développement personnel, social et intellectuel de chaque enfant de manière à optimiser sa réussite à long terme.

De plus, certains conseils scolaires offrent ou se préparent à offrir des programmes accueillant les enfants de 3 ans.

Une communauté francophone dynamique et diversifiée

La diversité qui caractérise la francophonie en Ontario enrichit la vie culturelle dans les écoles, les collèges francophones et les universités membres du réseau de l'ELF en Ontario. Puisque la communauté francophone évolue rapidement, il est important d'accueillir et d'accompagner tout parent qui choisit d'inscrire son enfant dans une école de l'ELF et toute personne qui s'inscrit dans un programme postsecondaire offert en français.

Une communauté au service des élèves et des étudiant(e)s

L'éducation en langue française développe une synergie avec divers membres de la communauté, permettant ainsi d'élargir l'éventail de ses services. Dans certains cas, il peut même s'agir de services offerts aux parents leur permettant de mieux épauler leur enfant en vue d'assurer sa réussite sur les plans scolaire et personnel.

Mandat

École de langue française

L’école de langue française assure la vitalité linguistique et culturelle de la communauté francophone en Ontario.

Programmes d’immersion (écoles de langue anglaise)

Les programmes d’immersion ont plutôt un rôle complémentaire, puisqu’ils augmentent la part des anglophones pouvant s’exprimer en français comme langue seconde.

Clientèle cible

École de langue française

Les francophones, les nouveaux arrivants et tous ceux et celles qui en font la demande en suivant les politiques établies par le conseil scolaire choisi. Voir les critères d’admission.

Programmes d’immersion

Les élèves anglophones à qui le français est enseigné à titre de langue seconde au sein d’une école de langue anglaise.

Approche éducative

École de langue française

L’école de langue française est une école à part entière, un milieu d’apprentissage francophone, gérée par l’un des 12 conseils scolaires de langue française (8 conseils scolaires catholiques et 4 conseils scolaires laïcs). Toutes les matières y sont enseignées en français, sauf l’anglais qui est enseigné avec la même rigueur que dans les écoles de langue anglaise.

Programmes d’immersion

L’immersion, c’est un programme offert par un conseil scolaire de langue anglaise dans une école de langue anglaise. Le programme d’immersion comprend l’enseignement du cours de français langue seconde et l’enseignement en français d’au moins deux autres matières.

Pour mieux comprendre la différence entre l'école de langue française et les programmes d'immersion dans le système des écoles de langue anglaise, veuillez consulter ce feuillet d'information.