Frequently Asked Questions

Answers to Key Questions

Key Questions

How is French-language education different from the French immersion program offered in English schools?

There is a major difference between French-language schools and the French immersion programs:

  • The French immersion program teaches French as a second language;
  • French-language education provides schooling in French and in a Francophone cultural setting;
  • French-language education teaches English starting in elementary school, which offers students the opportunity to acquire a solid command of Canada’s two official languages by the time they complete their studies.

Who can enrol in French-language schools?

The rights to a French-language education in Ontario are defined by both the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms and the Ontario Education Act.

Admission to French-language schools can be granted in one of two ways:

1. Under the section 23 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms, a child is eligible, without any other condition, if the parent is a Canadian citizen and meets one or all of the following criteria:

  • the first language learned and still understood is French;
  • he or she was educated, at the elementary level, in French in Canada;
  • he or she is the parent or tutor of a child who has received or who is receiving his or her education at the elementary or secondary level in French in Canada.

2. Moreover, under the Education Act, the Ontario Legislature recognizes the importance of extending the right to be admitted to a French-language school to children of parents who do not meet the basic criteria set out in section 23 of the charter. Under section 293, a mechanism was established – namely, the admission committee – by which it is possible to admit these children.

A rights-holder who chooses not to register his or her child in a French-language school runs the risk of depriving his or her descendants of this right. In order for his or her grandchildren to regain their rights to French-language education, they will have to submit an application to the admissions committee of the appropriate school board.


Postsecondary education and training
Access to a postsecondary institution or a training agency is open to everyone who wants to further his or her education in French.

Can my child receive a French-language education if he or she is not fluent in French?

Yes. French-language education has special programs and services designed specifically to meet the needs of all students accepted in a French-language school. One of these programs, called  Actualisation linguistique en français (ALF), has been developed to meet the needs of students who have a limited knowledge of  French to succeed academically. Based on an individualized evaluation of the student’s proficiency in French, a program is designed to bring his or her language skills up to par. Through differentiated instruction, teachers help students master listening, reading and writing in French. 

The policy statement and guidelines on the admission, welcoming and support of students receiving a French-language education in Ontario will ensure that every student, regardless of his or her background, receives the appropriate support and programs.

Can my child attend one of the French-language schools if I am a newcomer to Ontario, and that he or she does not speak French?

Yes. French-language schools welcome newcomers who do not speak either of Canada’s official languages. Special measures are provided by school boards to help these students and their families integrate themselves into their community and to support the students’ academic success.

For further information on the admission of students in Ontario seeking French-language education, contact your local school board.

French-language education: welcoming and inclusive schools 

Constantly striving to be welcoming and inclusive, all French-language education school boards have reviewed their admission policy in 2009 as follows:

  • to ensure that boards include in their policies effective methods for recruiting eligible students;
  • to make the admission process at French-language schools as streamlined as possible for newcomers who are French-speaking;
  • to make provisions for possible admission of newcomers who speak neither French nor English to French-language schools;
  • to standardize the rules governing the operation of admission committees to ensure fairness across the province;
  • to increase accountability and transparency in the French-language education system to improve public confidence.

How does the curriculum for the French-language schools differ from that of English-language schools?

The curriculum for the French-language schools (Junior Kindergarten to Grade 12) reflects the pedagogical and linguistic realities of the Francophone context and is aligned with the English-language schools' curriculum. 

Students learn English starting in elementary school and up to Grade 12. The English course at the secondary level is thought with the same rigour as in English-language schools.

What are the extracurricular offerings in French-language schools? Are they similar to those in English-language schools?

Most French-language schools offer the same extracurricular activities as English-language schools. Since part of French-language education’s mandate is to transmit the Francophone culture to its students, the  schools offer students the opportunity to participate in various cultural activities in French. This cultural environment is particular to French-language education and enriches the students’ learning and school life, while allowing them to attain high-level bilingualism.

How are French-language education teachers certified?

All teachers in Ontario must satisfy the same certification and training requirements set forth in the Ontario Education Act . They must also be members of  the Ontario College of Teachers who regulates the teaching  profession in Ontario. French language teachers also benefit from a series of professional development opportunities to acquire the special training to work in a French-language minority setting. 

Can attending a French-language school increase a student’s likelihood of being accepted into the postsecondary program of his or her choice?

Yes. Students attending French-language schools master both official languages. In addition, the academic performance and graduation rates of French-language education’s students are above the average for the province. This increases students’ chances of being accepted into the postsecondary education program of their choice and finding interesting employment opportunities. Students who graduate from French-language secondary schools can apply to French-language, English-language or bilingual postsecondary institutions, as well as other training programs, in either official language.

Close
...
...

Find an Institution

See also Contact Lists

{% get_settings %} {# Implementation of bootstrap theme dropdown menu - shows top level links and their children #}

Foire aux questions

Réponses à des questions clés

Questions clés

En quoi l'éducation en langue française est-elle différente du programme d'immersion en français offerts dans les écoles de langue anglaise?

Il existe une distinction importante entre l'école de langue française et le programme d'immersion.

  • Dans un programme d'immersion, on enseigne le français comme langue seconde. 
  • À l'école de langue française, on enseigne en français dans un milieu culturel francophone.
  • Étant donné qu'à l'école de langue française l'enseignement de l'anglais se fait à partir de l'élémentaire, les élèves ont l'avantage de terminer leurs études en ayant une solide maîtrise des deux langues officielles du Canada.

Qui peut s'inscrire dans les écoles de langue française?

En Ontario, les droits à l'instruction en français sont établis par la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés et par la Loi sur l'éducation de l'Ontario.

L'admission à l'école de langue française se fait donc suivant l'une des deux voies suivantes : 

1. Selon l'article 23 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés, un enfant est admissible, sans autre condition, si le parent a la citoyenneté canadienne et répond à l'un OU à l'autre des critères suivants :

  • sa première langue apprise et comprise est le français; 
  • il a reçu une instruction, au palier élémentaire, en français, au Canada; 
  • un autre de ses enfants a reçu ou reçoit son instruction au palier élémentaire ou secondaire en français au Canada.

2. Par ailleurs, en adoptant la Loi sur l'éducation de l'Ontario, la législature de l'Ontario reconnait l'importance d'élargir les droits d'admission à l'école de langue française aux enfants de parents qui ne satisfont pas aux critères de base de l'article 23 de la Charte. Au titre de l'article 293, un mécanisme – soit le comité d'admission – a été établi par lequel il est possible d'admettre ces enfants.

Un ayant droit qui choisit de ne pas faire instruire son enfant dans une école de langue française risque de priver ses descendants de ce droit. Ceux-ci devront, pour faire instruire leurs enfants en français, soumettre une demande à l'examen du comité d'admission du conseil scolaire concerné.


L'admissibilité aux établissements postsecondaires

L'accès aux études dans un établissement d'enseignement postsecondaire ou une agence de formation est reconnu à toute personne qui désire poursuivre son éducation en français.

Mon enfant peut-il être inscrit dans une école de langue française si lui ou elle ne connaît pas bien le français?

Oui, l'éducation en langue française offre des programmes et des services spéciaux créés pour répondre aux besoins des élèves acceptés dans une école de langue française. L'un de ces programmes est le programme-cadre d'Actualisation linguistique en français (ALF), qui a été conçu pour répondre aux besoins des élèves ayant une connaissance limitée du français. Basé sur l'évaluation individuelle de la maîtrise du français de l'élève, ce programme permet d'améliorer ses compétences linguistiques. Grâce à la pédagogie différenciée, les enseignantes et enseignants aident les élèves à maîtriser l'écoute, la lecture et l'écriture en français. 

Une politique et des directives portant sur l'admission, l'accueil et l'accompagnement des élèves dans les écoles de langue française de l'Ontario garantissent que tous les élèves, quels que soient leurs antécédents, auront accès à des programmes et à des soutiens appropriés.

Mon enfant peut-il fréquenter une école de langue française si je suis un nouvel arrivant en Ontario, et qu'il ou elle ne parle pas le français?

Oui, les écoles de langue française accueillent de nouveaux arrivants qui ne parlent ni l'une ni l'autre des langues officielles du Canada. Des mesures particulières sont mises en place par les conseils scolaires pour aider l'apprenant(e) ainsi que sa famille à mieux s'intégrer dans sa communauté et assurer la réussite de l'enfant à l'école. Pour plus de renseignements concernant les procédures d'admission à un programme d'éducation en langue française en Ontario, communiquez avec le conseil scolaire de votre région.

L'éducation en langue française comprend des écoles accueillantes et inclusives

  • Pour offrir un service toujours plus accueillant et inclusif, les conseils scolaires de langue française ont révisé leur politique d’admission en 2009 avec les objectifs :

    • d'assurer que les conseils incluent dans leurs politiques des méthodes efficaces de recrutement des élèves admissibles;
    • de standardiser autant que possible l'admission à l'école de langue française des nouveaux arrivants d'expression française;
    • de prendre des dispositions pour qu'il soit possible d'admettre à l'école de langue française les nouveaux arrivants ne parlant ni français ni anglais;
    • d'uniformiser les règles régissant le fonctionnement des comités d'admission pour en assurer l'équité dans toute la province;
    • d'augmenter le niveau d'imputabilité et de transparence du système d'éducation en langue française pour améliorer la confiance du public.

En quoi le curriculum des écoles de langue française diffère-t-il de celui des écoles de langue anglaise?

Le curriculum des écoles de langue française (maternelle à la 12e année) reflète les réalités pédagogiques et  linguistiques du contexte francophone. Il est aligné avec le curriculum des écoles de langue anglaise. 

L'enseignement de l'anglais s'effectue dès l'école élémentaire jusqu'en 12e année. Le cours d'English est enseigné avec la même rigueur que dans les écoles de langue anglaise.

Quelles sont les activités parascolaires dans les écoles de langue française? Sont-elles semblables à celles des écoles de langue anglaise?

La plupart des écoles de langue française offrent les mêmes activités parascolaires que les écoles de langue anglaise. Comme l'éducation en langue française a pour mandat, notamment, de transmettre aux élèves la langue française et la culture de la communauté francophone, les écoles de langue française offrent aux élèves la chance de vivre plusieurs expériences culturelles en français. Cet environnement culturel unique à l'éducation en langue française enrichit la vie scolaire et l'apprentissage de l'élève tout en lui permettant d'atteindre un haut niveau de bilinguisme.

Quelles sont les procédures de certification pour le personnel enseignant des écoles de langue française?

Les mêmes exigences de formation et de certification s'appliquent aux enseignantes et enseignants de l'Ontario, comme le prescrit la Loi sur l'éducation et l'impose l'admission à l'Ordre des enseignantes et des enseignants de l'Ontario. Le personnel enseignant de langue française bénéficie de perfectionnement professionnel additionnel, notamment la formation nécessaire pour travailler dans un environnement francophone minoritaire.

Le fait d'avoir fréquenté une école de langue française peut-il accroître les chances de l'élève d'être accepté dans le programme postsecondaire de son choix?

Oui, les élèves fréquentant les écoles de langue française maîtrisent les deux langues officielles. De plus, le rendement et le taux d'obtention du diplôme des élèves des écoles de l'éducation en langue française sont supérieurs à la moyenne provinciale. Ces avantages augmentent leurs chances d'être acceptés dans le programme postsecondaire de leur choix ou de trouver un emploi intéressant. Les élèves diplômés de l'école secondaire de langue française ont l'avantage de pouvoir faire des demandes d'admission dans des établissements postsecondaires de langue française, de langue anglaise ou bilingues, de même qu'à d'autres programmes de formation dans l'une ou l'autre des deux langues officielles.

Fermer
...
...
...

...

...

...

...


Service de garde

...

Trouvez un établissement