High-Level Bilingualism

Proficiency in Both French and English

Mastering Both Official Languages

more

French-language education students live and learn in French, while evolving in a predominantly English-speaking environment. In addition, English is taught starting in elementary school up to Grade 12. The English course at the secondary level is taught with the same rigour as in English-language schools.

French-Language Schools Are Not the Same as the French Immersion Program

French-Language Schools

French-language schools are educational establishments in their own right where students live and learn in French. They are managed by one of the 12 publicly funded French-language school boards in Ontario (8 Catholic school boards and 4 public (secular) school boards). All subjects are taught in French. English is taught starting in elementary school up to Grade 12. The English course at the secondary level is taught with the same rigour as in English-language schools.

French Immersion Program

The French immersion program is offered by English-language school boards within English-language schools. This program teaches French as a second language. 

To better understand the difference between French-language schools and the French Immersion program offered in the English-language system, please read the information pamphlet.

To download pamphlet : ELF _French immersion V2.pdf

Excellent Employment Opportunities

Students who receive a secondary school diploma from a French-language school are proficient in both Canada’s official languages. This increases their chances of being admitted to the postsecondary education or training program of their choice, as they can apply to French-language, English-language or bilingual institutions.

Our graduates develop high-level, sustainable bilingualism and a sense of belonging to the Francophone community, while remaining active and involved in the greater community. This provides them with highly promising career opportunities in either official language, within the province or abroad. French-language education trains its students to evolve and succeed on the world stage.

Close
...
...

Find an Institution

See also Contact Lists

{% get_settings %} {# Implementation of bootstrap theme dropdown menu - shows top level links and their children #}

Bilinguisme durable

Maîtrise du français et de l'anglais

La maîtrise des deux langues officielles du Canada

suite

Les élèves et les étudiantes et étudiants de l’éducation en langue française apprennent et vivent en français, tout en évoluant dans un monde où l'anglais est omniprésent. De plus, l'anglais est enseigné dès l’école élémentaire jusqu’en 12e année, et les cours d’English au palier secondaire sont enseignés avec la même rigueur que dans les écoles de langue anglaise.

Mandat différent du programme « French Immersion »

École de langue française

L’école de langue française est une école à part entière, un milieu d’apprentissage francophone, gérée par l’un des 12 conseils scolaires de langue française : 8 conseils scolaires catholiques et 4 conseils scolaires publics (laïcs), financés par les fonds publics. Toutes les matières y sont enseignées en français. L’anglais est enseigné dès l’école élémentaire jusqu’en 12e année, et les cours d’English au palier secondaire sont enseignés avec la même rigueur que dans les écoles de langue anglaise.

Programme « French Immersion » (Programme d’immersion en français dans une école de langue anglaise)

Le programme « French Immersion », est un programme offert par un conseil scolaire de langue anglaise dans une école de langue anglaise. Ce programme comprend l’enseignement du cours de français en tant que langue seconde et l’enseignement en français d’au moins deux autres matières.

Pour mieux comprendre la différence entre l'école de langue française et le programme « French-Immersion » offert dans les écoles de langue anglaise, veuillez consulter le feuillet d'information. 


Pour télécharger le format PDF du feuillet : ELF _French immersion V2.pdf

D'excellentes perspectives d'emploi

Les élèves qui obtiennent leur diplôme d'études secondaires d'une école de langue française développent une maîtrise des deux langues officielles du Canada. Ils augmentent ainsi leurs chances d'accéder au programme d'études postsecondaires de leur choix. Ils sont donc en mesure de présenter une demande d'admission dans les établissements postsecondaires de langue française, de langue anglaise ou bilingues.

 Leur bilinguisme de haut niveau, bien ancré, et leur appartenance à la communauté francophone, alliée à leurs nombreux contacts avec la communauté anglophone majoritaire de la province, leur garantissent un avenir professionnel des plus prometteurs et des débouchés de carrière dans l'une ou l'autre des deux langues officielles, dans la province aussi bien qu'à l'extérieur. L'éducation en langue française prépare sa clientèle à évoluer et à réussir sur la scène mondiale.

Fermer

Trouvez un établissement

Voir aussi Listes de contacts

{% get_settings %} {# Implementation of bootstrap theme dropdown menu - shows top level links and their children #}