About Us

A Large Network of French-Language Educational Institutions

Mission

more

French-language education in Ontario pursues an important social mission based on the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms. In addition to ensuring the success and well-being of its children and students, French-language schools are dedicated to conveying and promoting the French language and Francophone culture. French-language education offers a continuum of learning from early years programs to postsecondary education including, training programs.

Options for Everyone

French-language education offers a range of programs and services intended for people of all age groups, for example:

  • child care services for children who have not yet reached school age;
  • full-time Junior and Senior Kindergarten programs for children ages 4–5;
  • elementary and secondary (Catholic and public) programs;
  • on-line learning and experiential learning programs such as Specialist High Skills Majors;
  • collegiate and universiy programs;
  • training programs;
  • adult learning programs.

History

more

Education is a key element in the history of the Francophonie in Ontario.

17th - 19th Century

17th Century

The identity of Franco-Ontarians is largely based on a unique educational experience that took place in the 17th century under the French regime.

19th Century

The first major school-related debate in Ontario dates back to the end of the 19th century, and focused on language rather than religion.

In October 1844, Governor General Sir Charles Metcalfe named Reverend Egerton Ryerson Chief Superintendent of Education for Upper Canada, the highest position in the province’s Department of Public Instruction.


1846 - 1890

During the governor general Charles Ryerson’s term of office, which lasted from 1846 to 1876, French-language schools were established throughout Ontario. Teachers were mostly native Quebecers and frequently used teaching materials from Quebec.

After the Ministry of Education was founded in 1875 and Ryerson retired in 1876, things became more complicated for Franco-Ontarians.

Over time, the creation and development of French-language schools in Ontario became the subject of political struggles. English-speaking Canadians of the time were dissatisfied with:

  • the insufficient training of teachers;
  • the waning knowledge of English;
  • the use of manuals from Quebec.

In 1885, English officially became a mandatory subject; in 1890, another law was passed to make English the language of instruction in Ontario’s schools except where it was impossible to do so. Schools therefore became bilingual.

Anglophones used political decisions to minimize the teaching of French, as well as instruction given in French.

1908 - 1910

In 1908, a commission led by F. W. Merchant, inspector of Ontario’s schools, revealed that the quality of the education and teaching of English were insufficient in bilingual schools. Merchant recommended providing better training to teachers and introducing English as the main language of instruction. More concerned with politics than education, the Government of Ontario focused on limiting the use of French in schools.

In 1910, after their numbers had grown, Franco-Ontarians organized l'Association canadienne française d'éducation d'Ontario to promote French-language interests. From the beginning, their ideas were met with opposition from advocates of English as the sole language of instruction.

1912 - Regulation 17

On June 25, 1912, the Ministry of Education of Ontario re-enacted Regulation 17 following an investigation carried out by F.W. Merchant, inspector of Ontario's schools. The highlights of this regulation:

  • as of the 3rd grade, English is the only language of instruction and communication in bilingual schools, whether these are public or separated;
  • children receive instruction in English from the moment they begin school;
  • the teaching of French must never replace or interfere with the teaching of English.

All forms of tolerance and openness were eliminated. Although Regulation 17 signified the implementation of a policy to assimilate and integrate Francophones, it also catalyzed social mobilization and helped develop a sense of belonging to the French-Canadian nation, whose future was seriously threatened.

The next 15 years (up until 1927) were marked by struggles involving many political personalities and the clergy’s highest-ranking figures.

1927 - 1977

In 1927, following a report by the Scott-Merchant-Côté Commission, the Government of Ontario implemented a system of bilingual elementary schools in which French became the main language of instruction (from then on, French and English were given equal consideration as languages of instruction and communication).

From then on, the right to teach in French was established in elementary schools throughout Ontario. However, the struggle to obtain the same in secondary schools carried on until 1968.

In 1967, John Robarts, the Prime Minister of Ontario, announced the implementation of French-language public secondary schools in Ontario. Thus, as of 1969, Ontario legislation authorized French to be taught in both elementary and secondary French-language schools.

In 1977, the Ontario Ministry of Education appointed the first Assistant Deputy Minister of French-Language Education.

1981 - 1986

In 1981, the Centre Jules-Léger was created to provide for Francophone students with learning disabilities.

In 1982, Section 23 of the Canadian Charter of Rights and Freedoms was enacted. The legislation granted official language minorities the right to have their children schooled in their mother tongue wherever the number of children justified this right.

In 1984, Francophones in Ontario received major support when certain provisions of the Education Act were judged unconstitutional by the Ontario Court of Appeal. Shortly after, the first French-language school board of Toronto was established. The French-language school boards of Ottawa-Carleton and Prescott-Russell followed.

In 1986, the Loi sur la gouvernance scolaire was enacted, which granted Francophones complete and exclusive governance of their French-language schools and teaching units.

1990 - 1998 - Creation of French-Language School Boards and Colleges

In 1990, the Cité collégiale (Ottawa) was created; it was the first French-language college of applied arts and technology in Ontario.

In 1991, the Ontario Ministry of Education created a French-language education Policy and Programs Branch. The branch’s mission is to establish policies and create or adapt the required programs and resources in order to offer quality education and services in all elementary and secondary French-language schools throughout the province.

Two French-language colleges of applied arts and technology opened in 1995: Collège Boréal and the Collège des Grands Lacs; a permanent site was also created for the Cité collégiale’s campus. In 2002–2003, the Collège d’arts appliqués et de technologie des Grands Lacs ceased its activity.

However, it was not until 1997 that the Government of Ontario created French-language school boards throughout the province, with the enactment of Act 104, the Fewer School Boards Act, 1997. These French-language school boards— 4 of them public and 8 of them Catholic — were created on January 1, 1998. The Act also ensured these school boards would receive the same funding as English-language school boards.

After many years of struggle, the Ontario Francophone community was finally authorized to manage its own French-language elementary and secondary schools.

2004 - 2008

In 2004, the Government of Ontario enacted the Politique d’aménagement linguistique (PAL) de l’Ontario pour l’éducation en langue française/Ontario’s Aménagement Linguistique Policy for French-language Education, to strengthen French-language education in Ontario. This policy’s objective is to promote the French language and culture, improve student performance, support the development of students’ Francophone cultural identity and contribute to the vitality of the Francophone community in Ontario.

2009

Constantly striving to be welcoming and inclusive, the French-language education school boards reviewed their admission policy in 2009 as follows:

  • to ensure that boards include in their policies effective methods for recruiting eligible students;
  • to make the admission process at French-language schools as streamlined as possible for newcomers who are French-speaking;
  • to make provisions for possible admission of newcomers who speak neither French nor English to French-language schools;
  • to standardize the rules governing the operation of admission committees to ensure fairness across the province;
  • to increase accountability and transparency in the French-language education system to improve public confidence.

2011

In 2011, the Government of Ontario launched the Politique d’aménagement linguistique de l’Ontario pour l’éducation postsecondaire et la formation en langue française / A Policy Framework for French-Language Postsecondary Education and Training in Ontario. The goal is to help provide Ontarians with more opportunities to study and train in French.

French-language policy framework for postsecondary education and training (PDF, 1.66 MB)

Close
...
...

Find an Institution

See also Contact Lists

{% get_settings %} {# Implementation of bootstrap theme dropdown menu - shows top level links and their children #}

À propos

Un important réseau d'établissements éducatifs en langue française

Mission

suite

L'éducation en langue française a un mandat social des plus importants, qui découle de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés. En plus d'assurer la réussite et le bien-être des enfants et des élèves, les écoles de langue-française ont pour mandat de transmettent la langue française et la culture francophone. L'éducation en langue française constitue un continuum d'apprentissage de la petite enfance au postsecondaire incluant la formation à l'emploi. 

Des options pour toutes et tous

L'éducation en langue française propose une gamme de programmes et de services à l'intention de tous les groupes d'âge, par exemple :

  • des services de garde d'enfants avant l'entrée scolaire pour les tout-petits;
  • des programmes de maternelle et de jardin à temps plein pour les 4 à 5 ans;
  • des programmes aux paliers élémentaire et secondaire (catholiques et publics);
  • des services d'enseignement à distance et des Majeures Haute Spécialisation;
  • des programmes collégiales et universitaires;
  • des programmes de formation à l'emploi;
  • des programmes de formation pour les adultes.

Historique

suite

L’éducation occupe une place centrale dans l’histoire de l’Ontario français.

Vidéo - Historique de l'éducation en langue française en Ontario

XVIIᵉ siècle - XIXᵉ siècle

L’identité franco-ontarienne s’est construite en grande partie d’après une expérience éducative unique, et ce, dès le XVIIe siècle, sous le Régime français.

Cependant, le premier grand débat scolaire en Ontario remonte à la fin du XIXe siècle et est axé sur la langue plutôt que sur la religion.

En octobre 1844, Sir Charles Metcalfe, gouverneur général de la province, nomme le révérend Egerton Ryerson au poste de surintendant principal de l’éducation pour le Haut-Canada, poste le plus élevé du ministère de l’Instruction publique de la province.

1846 - 1890

Sous le règne du gouverneur général Sir Charles Ryerson de 1846 à 1876, des écoles de langue française voient le jour un peu partout en Ontario. Les enseignantes et enseignants sont généralement d’origine québécoise et utilisent souvent les livres du Québec.

Après la création du ministère de l’Éducation en 1875 et la retraite de Ryerson en 1876, les choses se compliquent pour les Franco-Ontariens. La création et le développement des écoles de langue française en Ontario deviennent graduellement des enjeux de luttes politiques.

Certains aspects agacent les anglophones de l’époque :

  • la formation plus ou moins adéquate des maîtres;
  • une connaissance plus faible de l’anglais;
  • l’utilisation de manuels en provenance du Québec.

Décrété matière obligatoire en 1885, l’anglais devient, en vertu d’un autre règlement de 1890, la langue d’enseignement dans les écoles ontariennes, sauf où cela s’avère impossible. Les écoles se transforment donc en       « English /écoles bilingues ». Au moyen de décisions politiques, les anglophones cherchent à limiter l’enseignement du/en français.

1908 - 1910

En 1908, une commission présidée par l’inspecteur général des écoles ontariennes, F. W. Merchant, confirme que la qualité de l’éducation et de l’enseignement de l’anglais dans les écoles bilingues est inadéquate et recommande une meilleure formation des enseignantes et des enseignants et l’introduction de l’anglais comme langue principale d’enseignement. Le gouvernement de l'Ontario, plus préoccupé par la politique que par l’éducation, met plutôt l’accent sur la limitation de l’utilisation du français dans les écoles.

En 1910, les Franco-Ontariens, devenus alors plus nombreux, fondent l’Association canadienne-française d’éducation de l’Ontario pour promouvoir les intérêts du français. Dès le départ, ils se heurtent à l’opposition qui réclame l’enseignement en anglais seulement.

1912 - Règlement 17

Le 25 juin 1912, le ministère de l’Éducation de l'Ontario promulgue le règlement 17, à la suite d’une enquête de l' inspecteur général des écoles ontariennes, F.W. Merchant. Les principaux éléments de ce règlement se résument comme suit :

  • à partir de la 3e année, l’anglais est la seule langue d’enseignement et de communication dans les écoles bilingues, qu’elles soient publiques ou séparées;
  • les enfants commencent l’apprentissage en anglais dès leur entrée à l’école;
  • l’enseignement du français ne doit jamais remplacer ni nuire à l’enseignement de l’anglais.

Toutes les voies de tolérance et d’ouverture sont maintenant fermées. Bien que le règlement 17 signifie la mise en place d’une politique d’assimilation et d’intégration des francophones, il devient néanmoins le catalyseur de la mobilisation sociale et du sentiment d’appartenance à la nation canadienne-française qui se sent profondément menacée.

Les 15 prochaines années, jusqu’en 1927, sont le théâtre de luttes auxquelles participent de nombreuses personnes politiques et les plus hautes instances du clergé.

1927 - 1977

Ce n’est qu’en 1927, à la suite du rapport de la commission Scott-Merchant-Côté, que le gouvernement de l'Ontario établit un système d’écoles primaires bilingues où le français devient la principale langue d’enseignement (le français et l’anglais ont la même considération comme langue d’enseignement et de communication).

Bien que soit maintenant reconnu le droit d’enseigner en français dans les écoles élémentaires de l’Ontario, la lutte pour qu’il en soit ainsi dans les écoles secondaires se poursuivra jusqu’en 1968.

En 1967, le premier ministre de l’Ontario, John Robarts, annonce la mise sur pied d’écoles secondaires publiques de langue française en Ontario. C’est donc à partir de 1969 que les lois ontariennes autorisent l’enseignement du français dans les écoles de langue française aux paliers élémentaire et secondaire.

En 1977, le ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario annonce la nomination du premier sous-ministre adjoint responsable de l’éducation en langue française.

1981 - 1990

En 1981, le Centre Jules-Léger voit le jour afin de subvenir aux besoins d’élèves francophones ayant des difficultés d’apprentissage.

Adoptée en 1982, l’article 23 de la Charte canadienne des droits et libertés reconnaît aux minorités de langues officielles le droit à l’éducation pour leurs enfants, dans leur langue maternelle, et ce, là où le nombre le justifie.

En 1984, les francophones de l’Ontario reçoivent un appui majeur lorsque certaines dispositions de la Loi sur l’éducation de la province sont jugées inconstitutionnelles par la Cour d’appel de l’Ontario. On voit, peu après, la création du premier conseil scolaire de langue française à Toronto, suivi de ceux d’Ottawa Carleton et de Prescott-Russell.

En 1986, promulgation de la loi sur la gouvernance scolaire donnant aux francophones la gouvernance entière et exclusive de leurs écoles de langue française et des unités d’enseignement.

1990 - 1997 - Création des conseils scolaires et collèges de langue française

En 1990, ouverture de la Cité collégiale (Ottawa), premier collège d’arts appliqués et de technologie de langue française en Ontario.

En 1991, le ministère de l’Éducation de l’Ontario crée la Direction des politiques et programmes d’éducation en langue française (DPPÉLF). Cette direction est chargée d’élaborer les politiques, d’adapter ou de produire les programmes et les ressources nécessaires à l’offre d’une éducation et de services de qualité dans toutes les écoles élémentaires et secondaires de langue française dans la province.

Puis, en 1995, ouverture de deux collèges d’arts appliqués et de technologie de langue française : le Collège Boréal et le Collège des Grands Lacs, et d’un site permanent pour le campus de La Cité collégiale. Il faut noter qu’en 2002-2003, le Collège d’arts appliqués et de technologie des Grands Lacs a cessé ses activités.

Il faudra toutefois attendre jusqu’en 1997 pour que le gouvernement ontarien crée, avec la loi 104 - Loi de 1997 réduisant le nombre de conseils scolaires, des conseils scolaires de langue française à l’échelle de la province. Ces conseils scolaires de langue française, soit quatre publics et huit catholiques, verront le jour le 1er janvier  1998. Ils sont également assurés d’un financement équivalent à celui des conseils scolaires de langue anglaise.

Après de longues années de lutte et de revendications, la communauté francophone de l’Ontario obtient enfin la gestion de ses propres écoles de langue française élémentaires et secondaires.

2004 - 2008

C’est en 2004 que le gouvernement de l'Ontario lance la Politique d’aménagement linguistique de l'Ontario (PAL) pour l'éducation en langue française. Cette politique vise à promouvoir la langue et la culture françaises, à améliorer le rendement des élèves, à favoriser le cheminement de l’identité culturelle francophone des élèves et à contribuer à la vitalité de la communauté francophone en Ontario.

2009

Pour offrir un service plus accueillant et inclusif, les conseils scolaires de langue française ont révisé leur politique d’admission en 2009 avec les objectifs :

  • d'assurer que les conseils incluent dans leurs politiques des méthodes efficaces de recrutement des élèves admissibles;
  • de standardiser autant que possible l'admission à l'école de langue française des nouveaux arrivants d'expression française;
  • de prendre des dispositions pour qu'il soit possible d'admettre à l'école de langue française les nouveaux arrivants ne parlant ni français ni anglais;
  • d'uniformiser les règles régissant le fonctionnement des comités d'admission pour en assurer l'équité dans toute la province;
  • d'augmenter le niveau d'imputabilité et de transparence du système d'éducation en langue française pour améliorer la confiance du public.

2011

En 2011, le gouvernement de l’Ontario lance la Politique d’aménagement linguistique de l’Ontario pour l’éducation postsecondaire et la formation en langue française. L'objectif est de donner aux Ontariennes et Ontariens davantage de possibilités d'études et de formation en français. Les lignes directrices renforcent la capacité de divers partenaires à promouvoir le développement de la langue et de la culture françaises dans tout ce qui touche à l'expérience d'apprentissage.

Politique d'aménagement linguistique pour l'éducation et la formation postsecondaire en langue française(PDF, 1,81 Mo)

Fermer

Trouvez un établissement

Voir aussi Listes de contacts

{% get_settings %} {# Implementation of bootstrap theme dropdown menu - shows top level links and their children #}